Skip to main content
Header Image


Alfred Russel Wallace Award

Award CriteriaFor post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD, and whose work is considered by their supervisory team to be outstanding. The research involved should be a significant contribution to the science of entomology.  ENTRY FORM
PrizeFirst prize: £800 plus Certificate, plus one years free Membership to the Royal Entomological Society. The winner will also be required to present their work at a major Society meeting (all expenses paid) and submit an article to Antenna.
Runners-up: Up to four runners-up will have their names and abstracts published in Antenna.
EligibilityAll post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD degree, on the basis of a thesis written in the English language, within the period 1st October 2016 - 31st December 2017.
Closing dateThe closing date for entry is 31st December 2017. Winners will be announced in the Spring 2018 edition of Antenna and on the RES website..
The JudgesThe judges' panel will consist of a group of senior Fellows of the Royal Entomological Society. The judges decision is final.

The candidate's supervisor or external examiner should complete the entry form (link below), have it signed by the Head of Department, append a copy of the abstract of the thesis, and send it to;
The Registrar
Royal Entomological Society,
The Mansion House,
Chiswell Green Lane,
St Albans,
Herts, AL2 3NS

Please do not send the thesis itself until requested to do so.

The candidate will at that stage be asked to provide a 500 word statement expressing in layman's terms the contribution that their work has made to entomology and selected entries will be asked to submit their theses.

Following thesis submission, up to 5 candidates will be invited to The Mansion House in person (UK travel will be paid), or virtually if not UK-based, to deliver a 20 minute presentation and engage in a 20 minute question/answer session with the judges.
Entry Form

Further informationLink to Alfred Russel Wallace website


2015/16 winner:

Rebijith Kayattukandy Balan for his outstanding work "Molecular approaches in identification, diversity and management of important insect vectors, Trips palmi Karny (Thysanoptera) and Aphis gossypi Glover (Hemptera)."

2014/15 winner:Mihail Garbuzov for his outstanding work "Helping the honey bee and other flower-visiting insects in urban areas."
2013/14 winner:Toos Van Noordwijk for her outstanding work "Through Arthropod Eyes: Gaining mechanistic understanding of calcareous grassland diversity."
2012/13 winner:Dr Sarah Beynon, for her outstanding work on Ecosystem Service Provision by Dung Associated Invertebrates which has added to the understanding of insect biodiversity. Visit the website
2011/12 winner:Dr Richard Merrill for his ground-breaking work on Heliconius that has contributed to some major new knowledge and insights, in a field that is basic to our understanding of insect biodiversity.
2010/11 winner:Dr Ben Longdon for his ground-breaking work and the outstanding contribution that he has made to knowledge of the evolution of sigma viruses in Drosophilidae, which opens up new avenues for research.
2009/10 winner:Dr Katherine Barry for her work on the evolution of mating behaviour in mantids.
2008/09 winner:Dr Tom Fayle for his studies of the ant community structure in a rain forest microcosm.
2007/08 winner:Dr Hannah M Rowland for her studies of the visual and behavioural ecology of countershading and other prey defences.
2006/07 winner:Dr Timothy C Hawes for his studies of Plasticity in arthropod cryotypes - a polar perspective.
2005/06 winner:Dr James Logan for his studies of differential responses of mosquitoes and biting midges to human host odours.
2004/05 winner
of this new award:
Dr Joseph Parker of M.R.C. Cambridge for his work on size control mechanisms in fruit fly embryos.